PDA

View Full Version : Is it Hostmonster fault or the receipient email host fault



hmalib
03-18-2009, 12:35 PM
Hello,

Some users from my company can't send emails to specific receipints.
The get this non delivery response

-----Original Message-----
From: MAILER-DAEMON@outbound-mail-148.bluehost.com
[mailto:MAILER-DAEMON@outbound-mail-148.bluehost.com]
Sent: Wednesday, March 18, 2009 11:40 AM
To: usernamechanged@squareenterprises.com
Subject: failure notice

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at outbound-mail-148.bluehost.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<usernamechanged@hortex.pl>:
213.17.170.28 failed after I sent the message.
Remote host said: 571 MAIL REFUSED - IP (67.222.38.34) is in RBL black list recent.spam.dnsbl.sorbs.net

--- Enclosed are the original headers of the message.

I checked with www.mxtoolbox.com to see if that domain is on some blacklist by it came up ok.
My domain also comes up ok in mxtoolbox.com

Who is at fault here? Hostmoster (bluehost 67.222.38.34) or hortex.pl (213.17.170.28)?
We switched to hostmonster about month ago and never used to get this with old host.
We are using outlook 2003 for email client.
If it is host monster how do i get this fixed?

Thanks,

Henryk

shadmego
03-18-2009, 01:50 PM
It seems from the research I did that Bluehost got themselves listed on the bad end of a spam detection list. That surprises me some because of how strict Bluehost and Hostmonster are with emails.

See for yourself, and feel free to share the info with the support staff at either Bluehost or Hostmonster.

Take the IP address for Bluehost listed above and go to www.us.sorbs.net.
Click on the database check link. It should be the top link on the left side of the screen.
Enter the Bluehost IP address and then enter the code beneath. Bluehost will have to contact this list to try and work out getting their IP address removed.

It is horrible that you have to go through this, but you aren't the only one. There are a few other companies that block Hostmonster and Bluehost email servers for whatever reason.

I can't tell you how successful you will be in trying to get this resolved. Once you inform Bluehost, it really will be out of your hands.

Have you considered using Google Apps for your domain? You can keep your domain email addresses, but Google will handle all your email needs.

~regards, and welcome to the community

hmalib
03-18-2009, 03:07 PM
Thank you for your reply.

We have an account with fastmail.fm that we used with other host when they had problems with smpt.

I will try using it with HM and see what happens.

Thanks,

Henryk